| News | League News | Season 2024/25 | NCEL AGM takes place and League Cup draw made

League News for

NCEL AGM takes place and League Cup draw made

22nd June, 2024

This year's NCEL AGM took place at Cedar Court Hotel in Harrogate this afternoon, the first step towards the start of the 2024/25 season that begins at the end of July.

The line-ups for the Premier Division and Division One were confirmed with five new clubs entering the league, two returning, and eight leaving for pastures new.

Club Thorne Colliery, Dearne & District, Ilkeley Town, Shelley and South Leeds all make their bow in the competition in Division One and we welcome them to the league.

And, we welcome back Appleby Frodingham and Winterton Rangers who return to the NCEL in Division One and the Premier Division, respectively.

We also say goodbye and wish all the best for the future to Emley AFC and Garforth Town who are promoted into the Northern Premier League, Clay Cross Town, Retford FC, Retford United, Shirebrook Town and Staveley Miners Welfare who move to the United Counties League, and Ollerton Town who drop down into the Central Midlands Alliance League.

Parkgate and Beverley Town's promotion to the Premier Division is also confirmed whilst Maltby Main will be in Division One following their relegation.

1. Albion Sports
2. Barton Town
3. Beverley Town (from Division One)
4. Bottesford Town
5. Campion
6. Eccleshill United
7. Frickley Athletic
8. Golcar United
9. Goole AFC
10. Hallam
11. Handsworth
12. Knaresborough Town
13. Parkgate (from Division One)
14. Penistone Church
15. Pickering Town
16. Rossington Main
17. Silsden AFC
18. Tadcaster Albion
19. Thackley
20. Winterton Rangers (from Northern Premier League)

1. Appleby Frodingham (from Lincolnshire League)
2. Armthorpe Welfare
3. Athersley Recreation
4. Brigg Town
5. Club Thorne Colliery (from Humber Premier League)
6. Dearne & District (from Central Midlands Alliance League)
7. Dronfield Town
8. Glasshoughton Welfare
9. Harrogate Railway Athletic
10. Horbury Town
11. Ilkley Town (from North West Counties League)
12. Louth Town
13. Maltby Main (from Premier Division)
14. Nostell Miners Welfare
15. Selby Town
16. Shelley (from North West Counties League)
17. South Leeds (formerly Middleton, from Yorkshire Amateur League)
18. Swallownest
19. Wakefield AFC
20. Wombwell Town
21. Worsbrough Bridge Athletic
22. Yorkshire Amateur

The draw for the First Round of the JCP Construction League Cup was made with ten ties to take place at that stage involving Division One teams.

FIRST ROUND DRAW (in draw order)
South Leeds v Shelley
Yorkshire Amateur v Wombwell Town
Maltby Main v Dearne & District
Horbury Town v Glasshoughton Welfare
Harrogate Railway Athletic v Nostell Miners Welfare
Ilkley Town v Swallownest
Appleby Frodingham v Worsbrough Bridge Athletic
Wakefield AFC v Dronfield Town
Athersley Recreation v Brigg Town
Louth Town v Club Thorne Colliery

Byes: Armthorpe Welfare, Selby Town.

Dates will be scheduled for these matches in due course whilst the league season kicks off on Saturday 27th July, 2024.

Pre-season friendlies, meanwhile, begin next Saturday (29th) as clubs get ready for the new campaign.

Latest Stories by Section

Season 2024/25 News


Latest Action

Click here for this week's matches

Latest Tables

Click here for more details